Thursday, 11 April 2013

About County Tipperary,Ireland

County Tipperary, also referred to as the 'Premier County' is the largest inland county in Ireland and is located in the province of Munster in the south west of Ireland. Due to the county's size it is divided into North Tipperary and South Tipperary.

Central Tipperary is occupied by the 'Golden Vale' one of the most fertile stretches of land in the country with an undulating landscape of green pastures, woodlands and mountains. To the north of Tipperary lies Lough Derg the second largest lake in Ireland and widely regarded as Ireland's 'Pleasure Lake' due to the amount of water activities to be enjoy here. The Glen of Aherlow is another area of outstanding natural beauty. This lush valley can be found between the Slievemamuck and the Galtee Mountains - the highest inland mountain range in Ireland.