Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Like if you can actually see the shadow of the boat~

Switzerland is a small landlocked country spread over an area of around 41,285 square kilometres. Located in the heart of central Europe, Switzerland is surrounded by Germany in the north and France in the north and west. To the east of the country lies Austria and Liechtenstein, while to the south lies Italy.

The country is divided geographically between the Alps, the Jura and the Central Plateau. Switzerland is divided into states, which are referred to as Cantons. There are 26 Cantons within the country and each Canton has its own flag.

The history of the country dates back around 350,000 BC and there are evidences which support that Stone Age hunters have resided in the country even before the Last Ice Age. However, the modern history of the country describes that Switzerland was conquered by Julius Caesar during the Gallic Wars, after which it was made part of the Roman Empire.

Until the 4th century AD, the country remained a Roman province. However after the decline of the Roman Empire, the country was invaded by German tribes from the north as well as from the west. In 800, Switzerland became part of Charlemagne's empire, which later passed under the rule of the German Emperors.

In 1291, an Eternal Alliance was signed between the representatives of the three forest Cantons of Unterwalden and Uri Schwyz to fight against the Hapsburgs. In the 1315 battle of Morganten, the Swiss defeated the Hapsburg army. By doing so, they secured quasi-independence within the German Empire.

In 1648, under the treaty of Westphalia, European countries recognised independence of Switzerland from the Roman Empire. Decades later, in 1798, the country was conquered by the French.

In 1815, the country again re-established its independence with the help of the Treaty of Vienna and Second Peace of Paris. The countries that participated in this treaty agreed that the Swiss from now on will be recognised as a permanent neutral power.

Switzerland adopted a federal constitution in 1848 and amended it extensively in 1874 and again in 1999. This established the country's responsibility regarding legal matters and defence trade. Since that time, the history of Switzerland has been characterised by continual political, social and economic improvement.

The country showcases three most distinct cultures of Europe, namely French, German and Italian. The influence of this cultural amalgamation can be seen in the art, architecture, music and literature of the country.

Switzerland is especially known for its beautiful architecture, and the famous sculptor Alberto Giacometti and architect Le Corbusier are also from Switzerland. In addition, the country is known for its mountains, landscapes and chocolates and cheese.

The best time to visit the country is during the summer season that extends from June to September. During this season, the weather is pleasant and the temperature is around 30° Celsius.